This day in lucha libre history… (January 19)

Published January 19, 2023

Discover the important events that occurred on this date in the lucha libre history

1980: Kato Kung Lee won the NWA World Welterweight Championship after beating Americo Rocca at Arena Pista Revolucion in Mexico City.



1992: Legends of Lucha Libre‘s El Solar was the first luchador to win the UWF Super Middleweight Championship after beating Canelo Casas (Heavy Metal) at the Korakuen Hall in Tokyo, Japan.



1992: Los Cowboys (El Texano & Silver King) won the UWA World Tag Team Championship after beating Gran Hamada & Kendo at the Korakuen Hall in Tokyo, Japan.



1997: Legends of Lucha Libre‘s Perro Aguayo, Canek & Hector Garza defeated Fuerza Guerrera, Heavy Metal & Jerry Estrada in a 6-Man Tag Team Match at the 10th edition of the Royal Rumble PPV at the Alamodome in San Antonio, Texas.



2015: Zeuxis won the Mexican National Women’s Championship after beating Estrellita at Arena Puebla in Puebla, Puebla.



2016: Esfinge won the 7th edition of the CMLL La Copa Jr. after beating Puma at Arena Mexico in Mexico City.



2018: Cuatrero won the CMLL World Middleweight Championship after beating Angel de Oro at the Day 6 of the CMLL-NJPW Fantasticamania tour at the Korakuen Hall in Tokyo, Japan.



Folks! We invite you to also follow us through our official social media accounts:





© 2023 Lucha Central

RELATED NOTE: This day in lucha libre history… (January 18)

This day in lucha libre history… (January 18)

Pin It on Pinterest